Some Love for Costa Rica

Pura vida, the slogan for Costa Rica. You can see it EVERYWHERE. It’s on shirts, bags, magnets, and the locals say it. It means ‘pure life’ and you get that there, or at least I did.

Everywhere you look it’s green and fresh and bright (although it rains a lot). From a twenty-something American’s perspective, life seems a little more laid back. Not as fast or rushed. Granted we were only there a day, but one hell of a day it was.

We got of the cruise ship and there were these guys on some kind of xylophone thing playing and singing and it was perfect. We walked over to the bus car thing (it was more like a van but with about 25 seats). Our guide and bus driver were laid back and excited. It felt genuine. They’d stop to show us animals and plants and were more than happy to let us take pictures. They even spent 10 minutes to try and catch one of these cute little guys.

fullsizeoutput_108f

Then we got the the Veragua Rainforest Park and OMG it was amazing. First off, I went to use their restroom and I’ve never washed my hands in such a beautiful place. I don’t have a picture, but imagine washing your hands in the forest with lush greenery everywhere. We then took a little tour of their exhibits of frogs and snakes and their butterfly garden. And then we ate this delicious lunch.

fullsizeoutput_1091

Those rice and beans though. I ate all mine then some of a friend’s. I still dream about them. So simple, but so delish.

After lunch before the next big event we saw a frog and our guide picked him up and he ended up jumping on me. We named him Bob after Bob Marley and it was a great frog birthday hug.

Processed with VSCO with f1 preset

And then we went zip-lining and that was the absolute best. This was on my bucket list. Not necessarily to do it in Costa Rica, but when I saw that this could be an excursion and I told Mom we had to do it. Gliding through the canopy in warm weather under blue skies with the chance of seeing stunning, incredible wildlife? Hell yeah count me in! I don’t really have any other words for it other than it incredible.

Processed with VSCO with q1 preset

So incredible. All of it. I left my heart in Costa Rica and I’d love to go and get it back. I’ve always dreamed of the tropics- warm, humid weather, blue skies and even bluer oceans, white sand beaches, and laid back locals. I’ll go back some day. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

